Necessary Documents

Below you can find the necessary documentation to visit Amsterdam depending on your nationality.

European Union

The Netherlands is part of the European Union, so the citizens of the EU Schengen zone do not need a visa, and can enter with only your I.D. or passport.

These countries include:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic and Romania.

Countries Exempt from Visas

For stays of less than 90 days, citizens of the following countries only need a valid passport.

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Vatican City, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Colombia, El Salvador, USA, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Paraguay, South Korea, San Marino, Switzerland, Singapore, United Kingdom, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Other Countries

The best option for citizens of other countries is to ask in the Dutch embassy, or look on the web of the Dutch foreign ministry.